top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLindsey Woods

Listen before you go.

Watching someone I care a lot for, walk willingly back into an abusive relationship is hard. It‘s like watching myself 10 years ago before I left the same exact situation. It’s like watching them walk to their eventual death.


I honestly never in a thousand years thought I would see someone so close to me experience it. And just like that, it pulled me right back to all those feelings I stuffed down about my own experience with it. The pure adrenaline from getting out and away from the abuser, the fear and anxiousness of not being home in your own comfort zone, the sadness and emptiness felt each day when you wake up, the disappointment from those around you when you run back all too quickly. It just hurts to be on the other side of it now. It hurts to watch my family mourn through it too.

I now get why everyone begged me to not go back then. It’s so obvious looking back it wasn‘t safe. I cried for a while this morning knowing there’s absolutely no way I can help her anymore. I can’t watch her be with someone who belittles her when she shows tiny little glimpses of her true self, someone who blames alcohol on the times he’s beat her within an inch of her life, someone who will literally blame anyone but himself for his abuse toward her. I used to be her.


I don’t wonder why she ran back because it was out of comfort. It was because being with him even if he only shows slivers of affection, was easier than facing what kind of life she could have had without all of that control. Mentally she has been broken down and is willing to accept whatever he gives her no matter how small. In the meantime, it pushes everyone away that could help her. It isolates you, honestly.

All I hope is that she is safe. Whatever that looks like for her. 😔


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Inner Werk werk werk werk werk

Now tell me you didn’t hear that Rhianna song reading the title. But yes, I’ve been doing a little work on my inner self. So, what’s that look like? Where do I feel like there isn’t “enough” in my lif

Post: Blog2_Post
Emailing

WOODS YOU GO WITH ME

Your Go-To Source

We are all told, “live your life to the fullest”; I am here to do just that. Woods You Go With Me serves as a vessel to project my passions, and clue in my loyal readers as to what inspires me in this crazy world. So, sit back, relax, and read on.

Learn More
Post: Welcome

Thanks for submitting!

Post: Subscribe
Untitled

LET’S CHAT! 

Thanks for submitting!

Post: Contact

ALL THE INFO

Hear It From Me

I believe you must bring your whole self to the table if you want to thrive in today’s crazy world; your personality, your sense of humor, and most importantly, your heart. All of these elements brought me to start Woods You Go With Me.

Ever since I launched this project, the blog has been thriving and has quickly gained a loyal following. To see what I’ve been up to, browse my site, learn about my passions, and explore what excites and interests you as well.

Modern Work Space
Post: About
bottom of page